2020 Office Closures

New Years Day- January 1. 2021

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - Jan 18, 2021  

President's Day - Feb 15, 2021  

Memorial Day - May 31, 2021  

Labor Day - Sept 6, 2021  

Columbus Day - Oct 11, 2021  

Veteran's Day - Nov 11, 2021 

Thanksgiving Day- Nov 25, 2021 

Christmas Day- Dec 25, 2021 

2021 Board Meeting Schedule 


In accordance with Governor DeWine's Executive Order 2020-01D (E.O.), which declares a state of emergency to protect the well-being of the citizens of Ohio from the effects of COVID-19, the Commission will host its board meetings virtually. 

The Public is welcome to attend via conference call.  To obtain details, please email: Annette.Reyes@ochla.state.oh.us


The Board of Commissioners is the body in which rests the statutory responsibility and authority of the agency. It is comprised of eleven members appointed by the Governor. Each commissioner serves for a three year term, and may be reappointed to serve additional terms. The terms of office of the commissioners are staggered so that approximately one-third of seats on the board is open for appointment/reappointment each October.

By law, Commissioners are required to be residents of the State of Ohio, citizens or lawful residents of the United States of America, of Latino heritage, and with some degree of ability to speak Spanish.

Although they are gubernatorial appointees, the Governor is not the only state leader with a say in the appointment of commissioners. The Governor has carte blanche authority to appoint five commissioners, the Speaker of the Ohio House and the President of the Ohio Senate each recommend two commissioners for appointment, and the Minority Leaders of the Ohio House and Senate each recommend one commissioner for appointment.

The Commissioners as a whole have a final say in determining the policies, the annual budget plan, the direction and the initiatives of the Commission. Any action of the Board of Commissioners requires at least six votes in the affirmative. The Director of the Commission is appointed by and serves at the pleasure of the Board of Commissioners.